New Skills in Temari

IMG_2354The  C10 mark is the starting structure for this Temari that measures 44.5cm. circum. The pattern is from the Temari Kai files, advanced section, #GT40. When I looked at the design it tickled my mind so I thought, why not try it. It has 3 separate but inter stitched patterns. Diamonds, stars and triangles. The technique of inter stitching one layer onto/into the previous one is new to me so the challenge was on. I feel that I did well learning to work the stitches. The area that is not so straight forward is that I began on a mari that was a good bit bigger in circumference than the pattern suggested. It was one that was wrapped and ready to go, just sitting on my work table, so why not use it.  Proportion and band widths were of course skewed do to size.

I really do love to work on larger diameter thread balls, something about their presence at larger scale really blows wind up my skirt. It has been a pattern changer for me before in terms of the relationship of design elements over the surface. I do have to reveal that following directions/commands/orders/authority has been a lifelong challenge. So why did I think it would be any different with Temari? The completed design does become different from the pattern guide although all the same elements are in place.

What one learns along the way is a treasure chest of delight.IMG_235730 diamond centers at stage 2 of this pattern.IMG_2359All the diamonds have been added at their 30 points of intersection. The first stars of the second pattern are inter stitched at the diamond long points.IMG_2373The first layer of 30 diamonds is complete and the 12 stars of the second pattern have been inter stitched between each row of the long points of the diamonds.IMG_2375The 20 triangles are now finished connecting the short arms of the diamonds.

The finished Thread Ball @ 44.5 cm. circumference. This new method of stitching between previous rows was challenging. A first attempt at this pattern and method from the advanced group has some learning errors and steps to do better with next time, but I could better read the photos and description that guided me better than ever before. A great feeling to recognize that new skills are gradually filling by basket. I of course love the finished design but it is not visually the same as the inspiration pattern.

Leave a comment