Icosidodecahedron Geometric Sphere

Icosadodecahedron Earth Tones Ribbonwork (3)The latest sphere in the Geometrics  group is 9” diameter,73.7cm. circum. The skin is made from heavy Ultrasuede, using 12 pentagons and 20 equilateral triangles. The ribbon follows the structural lines that define this sphere configuration. The metal medallions came from a belt acquired many years ago. When I think on how many times I’ve tried to give that belt away, thinking lighten up/purge stuff/give away, I’m delighted to have found a manner in which it serves well. And of course that it was still waiting in the wings for it’s moment to shine. It does too, as the faceted jewels on the surface give a lovely sparkle  as light passes by.  Hand stitched throughout.

2 Responses to “Icosidodecahedron Geometric Sphere”

  1. I really like this one. Great colors and you are right the belt medallions are perfect. How did you measure the ultra-suede?

    • Not exactly sure re your question but after making these spheres for some years now I can estimate the overall size by the size I make the 3 and 5 sided “Tiles”. I make a template from a plastic sheet(quilting supplies) and when I know I want a certain size sphere I pull the one I’ve made which has a label as to structure and number of pieces to make the sphere. Does that make sense as per your question? Ex. icosidodecahedron 32 pieces,dodecahedron 12 pcs or icosahedron 20 pcs. etc. jT

Leave a Reply

