42 Centers Tutorial Temari

IMG_2240Learning new skills and techniques has given me a needed boost in confidence in the Art of Temari. More complex, better ability to construct the marking, easier method of locating the 12 centers of the C10 starting mark. Adding all the extra guidelines and adjusting the many new centers so that they are all uniform and balanced around the sphere. These are huge improvements and they open up the medium to all that follows making the creating of new work in all design ways easier and clearer. Each of these attributes will show up in all new projects. The online tutorial, offered by Barbara Suess is a wonderful learning tool.  Her guidance has been of great benefit several different times now, each addition of new skills and know how improves my work and provides deeper understanding into this art form. This ball is 43.5cm circum.

Working with a colorway of lower contrast is of interest as well. I love the bold and bright high contrast vibrating colors but using a softer color progression pleases the eye and sense of rightness for me. I thought I had finished the ball last night, something was not quite right, but what. I went into the center of each 5 star center and added a small dark star and the result was just the needed detail. Learning these things along the way for all artists is common. It is for me in other mediums too. The willingness to look at the ‘thought to be finished’ piece and realizing ‘not quite yet’, perhaps not knowing what that last final touch will be can be the most important move. I guess that’s true about most everything when I think about it.

5 Responses to “42 Centers Tutorial Temari”

  1. Your temari is stunning. I am really inspired by your work and colour palette. Thank you & happy 2016!

  2. Ayana Arnold Says:

    So glad you are back making Temari again! I missed your work, and introspective views if life.

Leave a Reply

