Testy and Fun

This new Temari is now complete. She is 51.5 cm. or 6.5” diameter. There are four patterns interwoven, working with 42 centers over all. 12 pentagon centers and 30 diamond centers. After winding the Mari and marking with a C 10, I just sat with the form wondering what to do with it. I like this stage, the asking and waiting, wondering what pattern the mind will see this time. I can most always find the pentagon magic but not so much the diamonds. Once the 2 ¬†pentagon forms were in place it would have been just as clear following the triangles into pattern. The thing I like about the diamonds is that they also suggest and hint at the cubic hexagon form also on the surface. I say testy and fun as title because from start to finish all the stages of the making process in a thread ball this big are challenging. Being self pushed to gain in confidence and skill are the guide ways, learning to see the patterns emerge without ‘outside of mind’ influence is another great progress. Every so often a particular Temari Ball will complete and it clearly shows me the course of the learning path this medium is taking me on. In the end it’s a feast of brain candy for my mind to play with, at, and in.All My Temari, Work in Progress (2)All My Temari, Work in Progress (6)

Leave a Reply

